Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 25

    Home to Perth

    27 октября 2019 г., Австралия ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Having had a few days to relax after reaching Santiago de Compostela (taking in León and Madrid), as well as about 20 hours of flying time, I've finally arrived back home.

    After finishing my Camino, I took the opportunity to do very little for a couple of days, and just let my body rest. It felt good to be able to sleep in a bed again, walk around town without a backpack, and to not feel compelled to pack everything each morning before hitting the road.

    Having arrived home, I have discovered that I've lost over 3kg in the time that I was away. I'm pretty happy with some of the weight loss from my waistline, but have also lost some muscle weight, which I'll focus on putting back on in coming weeks (back to the gym).

    Though I am usually pretty healthy, it surprised me how much the Camino took a toll on my body. In all, the 16 days of walking entailed:
    - 400.6km walked
    - Over 602,000 steps taken
    - One large blister on left foot (protected by Compeed)
    - Prolonged aches and pains in left knee (eventually took care of itself)
    - Swelling and aching in lower right leg (near location of previous broken bones)
    - Chest infection (Bronchitis avoided)

    Landing back in Perth late on Saturday night (October 26th) felt so good! I loved breathing in the cool night air, and most of all revelled in seeing Michelle waiting for me as I walked through the airport arrival gates.

    I look forward to seeing more of Europe, though can confidently say that I won't be planning to stay in hostel-type accommodation again anytime soon. My Camino was everything that I hoped it to be, and so much more. Photos alone don't do it justice - rather, it will be the memories of so many events, places and people encountered along the way. When I look back at my Camino experience, it will be the people I met who made it what it was, to whom I will be always thankful.

    For anyone planning or wishing to walk any of the Camino de Santiago routes, I say GO FOR IT, and Buen Camino!

    One Year Update:
    It is now 5 October 2020, and a year to the day since I began my Camino Frances.

    Not many days go by that don't include memories of my Camino experience. I'm happy to say that I'm still in contact with some of the people I met along the way, and not so happy to admit that I've found the weight that I lost over the distance that I walked.

    This remains to be an experience that I treasure, and don't ever see this changing. In fact, though the world is currently dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic, my 2019 Camino has only emboldened me to return for more.

    If all goes to plan, within the next 2-3 years Michelle and I will look at the Camino Portugués, possibly starting from Porto. Part of me would like to walk again from St Jean to Pamplona, so this may be a good way to begin our next journey.

    For my birthday this year, Michelle surprised me with a framed set of my Pilgrim's Passport, Compostela and scallop shell. This proudly hangs on the wall at home, reminding me daily of this incredible experience, and despite the challenges that I faced along the way, it was all worth it.
    Читать далее