Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Frankfurt Flughafen

    January 6, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ -4 °C

    The blank pages of this diary are waiting to be filled with adventures, fun, sun, sea...everything what the Seychelles has to offer for me. But let's just start at the beginning...why am I travelling to these islands (115 of them to be exact!), situated in the Indian Ocean, east from Africa? A couple of months ago, an opportunity was offered by the company I am working for. Team Leader on the Seychelles - sounds like a dream, but of course as everything in life, it has positive and negative sides also. After a couple of days of hesitation (at the end...what do I have to lose, right?!), I did take the job...and here I am now, writing about my first steps towards a new life...at least for the next 10 months;)

    After the big decision has been made...the following step was getting in touch for the first time with the bureaucracy Seychellois. According to my Seychelloise friend, whom I surprisingly know from Hungary, not from the Seychelles, bureaucracy is quite some thing there. After having proven that I do not have AIDS, my lungs are perfectly healthy and that my intention is to actually work on this island considered to be a paradise on Earth...after more than 3 long months, on the day of my actual departure for the Seychelles, I finally did receive my so called GOP, the "Gainful Occupation Permit". Well I was told that to be able to survive working on the Seychelles, one really has to be patient...so just before my check-in for the flight from Frankfurt to Mahe Island (main island of the Seychelles), this famous piece of paper arrived...yeeey, ready to board flight no. DE 2302 destination Seychelles!
    Read more