Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Seychelles International Airport

    January 7, 2017 on the Seychelles ⋅ 🌬 29 °C

    Early morning at 6 my flight landed on the airport of Mahe Island, Seychelles. There was so much humidity, that I could barely see the mountains around and the small airport building. In the last couple of days it has been raining so much...but the weather was gracious with me upon my arrival: although it was pretty cloudy and humid, it hasn't been raining. I take this as a sign - a good start!

    After a small tour of the airport, and a "business breakfast" talking with my colleague about some work things, I could settle in the hotel where I will stay till my colleague leaves the island. Then I will move to where she used to live, which is called Coral Strand Hotel.

    I slept a bit, because i was up for more than 24 hours, and then I went on a discovery tour around Beau Vallon, where I am staying. I have some quite sharp memories from Beau Vallon, I was visiting a friend of mine 2 years ago here. The only change what I saw for the first sight, was 1-2 new restaurants and a brand new jungle gym not far from the Savoy Hotel. I was quite impressed with the jungle gym overlooking the ocean...Miami is definitely coming to Beau Vallon!

    What I really liked the first time I was here, was this breadfruit chips. So when I saw it in the supermarket, I was happy that already on my first day I can eat something local, something typical. Another funny thing from the supermarket, or better said a funny thing about prices on the Seychelles was that this breadfruit chips, some bread and some cheese cost the same as a bottle of Malibu black bought in the duty free. It's somehow a strange price equality, especially compparing to Turkey, where alcohol in general was quite expensive. I'm excited to go local and explore what they eat, drink, how is their culture, their way of life. Mission to be completed: how to be a Seychelloise.
    Read more