Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Belorado to San Juan de Ortega

    May 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Today was tough in many ways. I had an early start as there was no accommodation available to be booked in San Juan de Ortega so I had to hope I’d get to the municipal albergue before it was full.

    On my way to Espinosa del Camino I passed Sandra from Germany who we had met in Orisson. We chatted a bit and made plans to have dinner together in Burgos on Thursday night with the Australian Sandra. While I was having breakfast in Espinosa del Camino she arrived and in that short space of time she had news from home that her father had died and she was going home. She gave me her rock to carry on to the Cruz de Ferro. I continued on and it was hard to shake the sadness. But I was so pleased that I had bumped into her at just that time. The remainder of the walk was 12 kms without any towns and the last half without shade again. It is getting very hot in the afternoons now. There is rain forecast for the end of the week but still high temperatures.

    The good news is that I arrived at the albergue before it filled and even got a bottom bunk. It’s a large room with 11 bunk beds so might be a noisy night with 22 of us. But it’s clean and friendly and the shower was hot. I had a (wine free) communal pilgrim dinner and sat with a young woman who came from Stroud in Gloucestershire and it was a good end to the day.

    Monasterio de San Juan de Ortega
    24kms
    Read more