Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Santiago de Compostela

    June 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    To all you patient and supportive family and friends - thanks for following my Camino. Your comments, likes and views kept me motivated and committed to keep going when I was ready to give up.

    My trip is not over. I have Muxia, Finistere, (by bus!) Santiago and then Madrid to do so I will keep posting but will not be offended if you stop following so closely!

    Santiago, like all the bigger places I have been so far, is very noisy at night. It takes a bit of getting used to and not waking after every merry person passes under your window throughout the night.

    It was so good not to rush out this morning. Sandra and I were on the queue at the Cathedral not long after 10am and seated inside for the midday Mass at 10.30am! Fortunately for us it is Pentecost Sunday so the Botafumeiro would be used. This only happens on special days so it was a big deal. And spectacular!

    Johan and Tony were also in the Cathedral and we met up afterwards for lunch. Sandra and I then explored the Parador Hotel which was a lot of fun.

    Then I went back to my lovely hotel to rest and enjoy the sounds of Santiago from my windows.

    Libredon Rooms
    5kms
    Read more