Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Foz do Iguaçu

    December 9, 2022 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 36 °C

    After a 20 hour bus journey I finally arrived to Foz do Iguaçu. I had great intentions to make my way to Argentina once I arrived. My plan, or lack of a plan, went out the window pretty quick. I was sweaty, flustered and completely covered in awful mosquito bites. I couldn't seems to work out for myself how to get anywhere so I booked a hostel in Foz (the Brazilian side) so that I could collect myself and get some much needed advice and information.

    Accommodation: Tetris Container Hostel. It was perfect for the one night I was there and had really helpful staff.

    On day one, once I finally got myself together, I visited the Brazilian side of the falls. It was ridiculously hot. Almost 40 degrees hot. It was a quick visit but I met a lovely Irish couple along the way. That evening in the hostel I made a bit more of a solid plan for the following day. Deciding that I couldn't face another bus journey so soon, I booked a flight to Buenos Aires. It's pretty difficult to book transport online here as our cards keep getting declined. On about my 10th attempt, I was finally on my way.
    Day two, I departed from Brazil and entered Argentina. It involved passing through border controls and several buses. I saw the Argentinian side of the falls which were absolutely breathtaking. I did misplace my phone at one point so the day wasn't completely smooth sailing. Once I had taken in the falls and stressed over a new currency, I made my way to the airport to take on Buenos Aires.

    Recommendations: Do both side. Foz do Iguaçu (Brazil) and Puerto Iguazú (Argentina)
    Do a boat trip on the Argentinian side. I didn't have time but apparently it's really worth it.
    Get blue dollars before you go to the falls in Argentina. Again, I didn't have time so it worked out more expensive for me.
    Read more