Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Buenos Aires

    December 10, 2022 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I've finally arrived to the much anticipated Buenos Aires. My arrival has been in complete contrast to my arrival at Foz. Firstly, I had the luxury of a flight. At the bag collection my Google maps was playing up so I asked the girl next to me how it was best to get to my hostel. We started chatting and when she saw where I needed to go she told me that her and her boyfriend would drive me there. They even made sure I was safely inside the hostel before leaving. It was so incredibly kind and the most lovely entry to the city.

    Accommodation:
    - Che Juan. Facilities are really nice but I'm not sure on the vibe. There's a lot of people over 50 staying here. Stayed for 3 night
    - Viajero in San Telmo. Very nice hostel, has a pool and a great breakfast. It was £30 a night though so very pricey. Stayed for 3 nights.
    - Voyage Hostel in Rocoleta. Very basic facilities but all I needed was a bed. Also has helpful staff. The location was ideal for getting to and from Palmero. Able to pay in cash so I got the blue dollar rate. Worked out very cheap. Stayed for 4 nights.

    From my walking tours I learned some great facts. My favourite was the la Boca walking tour. Its the official art district of BA with gorgeous colours streets and buildings. I learned that La Boca juniors football stadium is one of the most atmospheric in the world due to its shape and having one solid straight wall at one side. It makes for a very intimidating stadium for the opposing team. They have also taken their team colours from the Firefighters of the area. La Boca had a huge amount of working class immigrants living there and developed a strong sense of community through music and dance. This is how the tango came about. It is still today a poor area but has and will remain untouched by gentrification. BAs population mainly grew by the arrival of Spanish and Italian immigrants. This is why Argentinian Spanish is difficult to understand to the rest of the worlds Spanish speaks and why they are so fond of hand gestures.

    To say I had the time of my life in BA is an understatement. Everything about my stay worked out perfectly. I met incredible people, there is so much to see and do and Argentina winning the world cup was the icing on the cake. I've experienced a day in BA that will go down in history. I feel so incredibly lucky to have been in the right place at the right time and I don't think I'll ever experience atmosphere like it again.

    Things I did:
    San Telmo Sunday street fair and San Telmo food market. Had the best chori pan.
    Recoleta Cemetery
    El Ateneo Grand Spendid - really great book shop.
    Japanese Gardens
    Botanical gardens
    Ecopark
    Plaza de Mayo
    La Boca walking tour
    Central history walking tour
    La Bomba de tiempo - drum show (a must do)
    Tango class at El Beso - a bit too local and legit for my liking.
    Went out at Casa Temple/Palmero square.
    Walked around Palermo
    Parque Tres de Febrero - very pretty and lovely rose gardens
    Palmero graffiti tour

    I completely burnt the candle at both ends. The nightlife is incredible and it needed to be embraced.
    Read more