Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 142

    Paracas

    April 12, 2023 in Peru ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Paracas is a little seaside town, 4 hours south of Lima. To get here, it was an easy 2 hour bus journey from Ica.

    Accommodation: Kokopelli. The most popular hostel in the area. It was nice but a little void of atmosphere due to the lack of tourists.

    We spent two nights here in total which I feel was enough. It wasn't a stand out destination and you missed the mass of fellow tourists. Tourism hasn't quite picked back up to what it normally is. We met Hugo and Katie again, and resumed our games of Monopoly Deal. Tara and I hired some scooters for a day and drove around the national park which is a desert by the sea. You can also visit islands off the coast which are known as the "poor mans Galapagos". It's great for spotting wildlife such as sea lions. I had myself booked and paid onto the tour but unfortunately I woke up during the night with a serious case of travellers belly. I wisely gave the trip a miss.
    Read more