Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 144

    Lima, take two

    April 14, 2023 in Peru ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    I've come full circle on my Peru stint and I've arrived back in Lima. Tara's sister in law is from Lima and her parents have kindly hosted us for the weekend. My time with Jorge and Raquel (and their dog Feeko) has definitely been a trip highlight. I learned that the Peruvian mammy ways are very similar to that of an Irish mammy. I was pandered to, had my laundry washed, dried and folded and I was completely overfed.
    Our first evening back in Lima we were taken for some typical Peruvian roast chicken. It was absolutely delicious. For some reason though I was still feeling unwell and became quite faint when we were leaving. Naturally, I was mortified to be causing such a fuss.
    Day two, Jorge was our tour guide wearing his favourite Irish hat. We spent the day wandering around Barranco, where I stayed during my initial visit to Lima. It was nice to see it through a locals perspective. We had an amazing lunch at Isolina. We watched the sunset in the area of Miraflores. Tara and I headed out that evening in search of drinks and a dance. We went to an Irish bar and then later couldn't find anything other than reggaeton.
    Day three, my last with Tara! Jorge took us to the main square in the historical centre. When we arrived back to the apartment Raquel had prepared us the most delicious meal. We had a typical Peruvian fish soup and a seafood dish with rice. We drove Tara to the airport for our big goodbyes and I stayed one more night before my flight the next morning.

    Recommendations:
    Go to Isolina in Barranco for food. The best Pisco sour you'll ever have.
    Read more