Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 147

    Cartagena

    April 17, 2023 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I'm in Colombia! My very vague new plan is to start here in Cartagena, do a few stops up here in the north and then work my way down in a little loop to Bogota.

    Accommodation: Viajero. I don't have too much to say about this other than it's just another Viajero.

    I've spent five nights here in total which was definitely enough. I didn't quite embrace all there is to do here as I felt I needed a rest. I did the walking tour of the Getsemani area which was great for gathering recommendations and seeing the colourful streets. It's a beautiful town that has been covered in street art and colourful decorations. As a city it is very touristy but it was still enjoyable. The only real downside is how insanely hot it is. It's right on the Carribbean coast and you can do trips to the nearby islands. I opted not to do this as I was in chill mode. I met a new friend called Kim from Australia. We had a great time exploring the city, finding some healthy salads and trying to sample a little of the night life. I also met Pearl from the US who I enjoyed a few G&Ts with and shared some funny travel stories.
    I've met a few English friends, Chris and Stanley, who I'm heading to Minca with.

    Recommendations
    El Bololó - really nice healthy bowls with good veggie options
    Gokéla - great salads
    5 Islands tour - meant to be great but I opted against it.
    Read more