Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Almost a Seoul destroyer

    March 14, 2023 in South Korea ⋅ 🌧 21 °C

    Had a good night and up early enough to get in a run and then an easy walk to the station.slight drizzle on the run but not for the walk. International was not crowded so all looking on track until- the Qantas check in asked if I had completed my K-eta visa. Well my blank look said it all. I am usually well researched but had not come across this before. I was pointed to the website and I needed to apply and have it approved - a. 15-20 minute wait. Well - 1/2 hour later I was no closer. The application wouldn’t upload my passport and the app I was directed to didn’t work. The Qantas airport manager was called and sent me to Flight Centre as they were sometimes successful. It took them 20 mins and $20 but application in! 25 minutes later the approval came through - 5 minutes before check in closed! Still time for a quick visit to the First Lounge where a glass of Pommery helped still the beating heart. I am with Dawn on this - I would much prefer to sit for a long time in an airport than run in an airport! Writing this bit on the plane- great crew but the clown in 24B has discovered the recline button - it’s going to be a long 10 hours! The crew saved me not long after - asked him to push it up! Watched the new movie Blueback - I have wanted to see it and can highly recommend! Great soundtrack by the incomparable Nigel Westlake. Fun fact - South Korea will be my number 30 country. I am counting Monaco but not the Vatican. I also don’t count those I don’t leave the airport (Germany, Ethiopia)
    Anyways - 12 hours later the flight is done (really very enjoyable) and a seamless border security and train find. My hotel is about 25 metres from the station and is better than my normal choice (plus an upgrade but no lounge). The airport and the train were relatively quiet but when on the street - BANG!! People and lights everywhere! Lots of street stalls but I wanted a beer and wifi so found a place nearby. No idea what I was ordering but I did understand I had to order for 2 (minimum). Kerry will nod as we always overdo the first meal. Spicy grilled meat with all the bits which I may not do again but the beer and the place is nice. Tomorrow will be a good chance to slow the heart even more and get some balance.
    Read more