Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Au Revoir - Melanesian Port Vila

    October 5, 2023 in Vanuatu ⋅ 🌬 23 °C

    A quick add on to finish life on island time as tomorrow could well be mayhem. As noted my flight has already been changed and I now learn of chaotic wind action in Sydney cancelling a 100 flights - wonderful news. A positive- my new (earlier) transfer time has been confirmed! Hopefully there are not any delays out of Port Vila as it is a small airport with not many delights. I will have plenty of time, if all goes well, to negotiate SYD International to SYD Domestic- I will have to train as I don’t have connecting flights (wouldn’t allow out of CNS). I am overnighting in BNE - again if all goes well. I will miss Kerry on Saturday morning by a few hours - she arrives for the christening at 9.30am I board at 6.05. Let’s see how the dice roll!! Dinner tonight? I didn’t want hotel fare and the weather was too dicey to venture far. As it was I had to transfer off the balcony because of a squall and wind gust. I went to the Marche to try and bring some Francoise into this old French province for a last taste. A Mediterranean red, batard, confit fois, brie and gouda (nearly France) made for a nice piqnique and a fitting finish. There is a fair amount of French in the local language and the streets are named (like) Rue Picardi, which was my address, but not like New Caledonia which is full on. Bring on tomorrow - THIS is travel!Read more