Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Beachtime

    October 5, 2023 in Vanuatu ⋅ 🌬 25 °C

    Nicer run this morning then baguette and jam. Another cruise ship heading in so my plan to be away from Port Vila is a good one! Earlier checkout tomorrow as Air Vanuatu has brought forward my flight by an hour - for my convenience. I had a little battle changing my transfer but finally found a way that didn't involve speaking to anyone! I then went down to reception to pay my bill. I went early because my main travel money is in my Qantas Travel Money card. It was declined yesterday at the restaurant so I didn't want any surprises tomorrow morning. Of course it was declined again so I had to use my CC which will have huge fees. The card worked beautifully in Singapore?? I tried to ring the international issue line but the message from the Vanuatu 'operator' was "you are not allowed to make this call" I was getting a little frustrated so went to the beach! So easy - cross the road from the hotel-find a space for the van to pull over, wait a minute, put your hand out and a B bus stops. Tell the driver where you want to go and he takes you (and others) to the door of their choosing. This was a 20 minute trip with 3 stops and bang - to the front door. All for 150VT ($2). The Breakas Resort was everything it said on the tin -sandy beach, infinity pool, bar and food. Very windy today but this place is a little sheltered. Beautifully sunny and warm with crystal clear water. Good job I brought my reef shoes as the coral came all the way into the beach.
    Spent the morning on the beach lounge then sojurned to the bar for a Tusker and a feed. I was tempted yesterday by the raw fish salad so it was a no brainier today. Real Raro memories where it was very similar with added coconut milk - our visit to Cooks was so long ago (don't mention the mountain). Beautiful lunch and a tip top excursion to round out my short trip to PV
    Read more