Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Galle awakes

    December 26, 2023 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    This morning I hit the ramparts of the Galle Fort at sunrise - the golden hour and I was rewarded. A beautiful time of day and the colours on the old Fort beautiful. It is possible to go nearly all the way around the Fort on top of the wall - just a few renos here and there. Galle is on the southern tip so both sunrise and sunset are a feature. I managed to catch the soldier in full dress kit raising the flag. I have included some pics of last nights dinner. I was going to have it at the cafe in my guest house but the guests had drunk the place dry - because of the holiday 'issues'. I found another place - Mango Tree that looked nice with lots of palms and outside on a patio. More importantly it had a local food section on the menu and critically it was fully stocked with Lion! I had Octopus Black Curry with coconut sambal and chapati - delicious. A real black pepper overtone and the octopus was tender. A bit of walking planned today - including going to the town proper. The old town is VERY tourist oriented so need to see the two sides.Read more