Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Last night

    December 29, 2023 in Sri Lanka ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    Lovely afternoon on the beach and there was some good sun to be had. As the afternoon developed so did the thunder clouds. Just made it into the resort undercover lounge before the heavens opened. A classic tropical downpour - 30 mins and it was done! Love it! Tuk tuk home (nice guy) and as I had deliberately missed lunch I set out for a Jaffna Restaurant I had been looking forward to. Went for a long walk prior (in the lovely post rain air) and then turned up at the door. Of course it was closed tonight!!. What to do? There is a quite reasonable looking Indian restaurant in my hotel but I saw that as a last resort. A couple of doors away I saw a rice and curry hotel. They call cafe/diners hotels here! Tiny little place with a few tables - it looked clean and the food having a good variety and looking fresh - so I darted in. Well - did I get a treat! I think for all sorts of reasons, this was the meal of the trip and summed up Sri Lanka in a moment. Helpful and interested staff and wonderful wonderful food - $6.50 doesn't even cover what will be a true memory of Colombo.Read more