Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    A little tour and then some

    May 3 in Singapore ⋅ 🌩️ 28 °C

    I promise I won't show my brekkie every day but when I turned up at my regulars - they were closed!! I looked around and there was a carbon copy almost next door. I have to say this place served Kaya toast perfection! The Kaya was outstanding, the bread flame toasted, kopi o excellent! What a dilemma - if I come here tomorrow I will be seen..... Oh well - my issue! I was doing some research in to how best to get to Sentosa Island and I noticed it said expect heavy usage sat/sun 4&5th May - so decision made and off I went. SMRT to Harbourfront then cable car to the island. The busy bit was obvious when I got here as the island golf club is hosting the Singapore LIV show this weekend! Uninspired by the Disney World type areas in the middle I went for a walk along Beach Road with the Tanjong Beach Club a destination. It was a reasonably long, pleasant and shady walk with some beach vistas - absolutely worth it. Pretty hot though so I stopped at the Beach Club, signed in, was shown a nice open air bar seat and waited, and waited. I was clearly invisible so left and caught the free shuttle back. Found the other beach club I was aware of (Ola's) and was welcomed in, given a nice table on the sand and a (not inexpensive) cold beer. I will leave here with kind thoughts. Opportune time to leave as the crowds were flowing in. Caught the SMRT Back to Lavender to the food centre next to my hotel for an eagerly anticipated bahn mi . When I visited yesterday and saw the stall, I remembered how good it was and found it was actually even better than I remembered! Crispy pork, not too full, the best pickles, pate etc
    I asked for extra chilli and you can see she responded - I didn't have to add extra! - could have been on the streets of Saigon or Hoi An #happyas. Pool time then off to the Marina. Jungle drums were sounding (thunder) but no rain yet. Into the Marina and found a waterfront bar that wasn't snooty! Had a lovely #fridayfizz couple of glasses and then wandered off to La Pau Sat Food Centre. I was hoping to catch the Friday night sate 'event' - but of course, being of the age I am, I was way too early! La Pau Sat was the first food centre we ever visited and it's certainly iconic. The food is not pretending to be Maxwell Road (the pinnacle) or Tiong Bahru, it was bustling and very enjoyable. I had oyster omelette that was really fine
    I know where I could get better, but I have had it now and my heart says thanks! So - 2 touristy things done and enjoyed. As I left I went via the sate street and was now shut to traffic and pumping! Home with an egg tart that looked (and was) amazing!
    Read more