Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3: Wine & Sun on Waiheke

    February 29, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    New Zealand has many wine regions. All little unique micro-climates unto themselves. There are a few around Auckland, and Waiheke Island is the probably most popular, due to its proximity to the city (a quick 40-minute ferry ride) and the getting away from it all feeling of sunny beaches and forest hikes.

    I got a late start, after a delicious shakshuka breakfast at Dear Jervois. I probably played the day too fast and loose, so by the time I decided for sure to do some wine tasting and sun-bathing, the wine tasting tours AND the hop-on-hop-off wine & beach bus were both sold out (it was a Saturday). So, thankfully, 2 of the winery recommendations I got from Bryan, my foodie Hobbiton guide, we’re both within walking distance of the main town on Waiheke. I earned my wine with the uphill hike, but it was worth it.

    Daily Observations:

    ~ It must be exhausting to have a social media account in Asia based on the 40-minute selfie session of two girls on the ferry.
    ~ The new fashion trends are very disorienting. I can’t get over seeing 90’s t-shirts (saw a 1992 Chicago Bulls championship one) on kids carrying cell phones.
    ~ NZ beaches have the best combo of shade/ soft grass to relax on/ ample space on the sand/ clean and convenient showers & changing areas
    ~ Cable Bay Vineyards’ wine wasn’t good enough to make up for the dark cellar tasting room and grudgingly friendly service
    - Mudbrick Vineyards had the best mix of ambience, bubbly service, and incredible views

    Unsolicited Trump jokes = 0 (I didn’t speak to very many people today)
    Read more