Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5: Eeek!! I’m Camping!!!

    March 2, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 70 °F

    It’s probably been about 20+ years since I’ve slept in a tent. God, help me.

    We were given the option to bike into camp the first evening. We, however, were not given the option to do it without the hills... we were warned about the first one. The second one was a ‘bonus’. Of course, the ONLY reason I had to walk my bike up both was on my physical therapist’s orders not to climb on the pedals (thanks, Ari).

    Nevertheless, we made it and cycled in to a very nice camp ground that made me very regretful I hadn’t upgraded to one of their cute, modern cabins. Well, no getting out of tent sleeping.
    Sam provided a very thorough explanation on the basics. Much to Aine’s disappointment, the demo tent was his own. We had the tents up in no time and lined up excitedly for Janelle’s delicious dinner (prepped solo for almost 30 people in under an hour!)

    I’ll skip over the evening activity, since those pics will show up in a later post.

    Showers - fair. Lots of hot * cold fluctuations
    Bugs - minimal
    Sleeping bags - warm
    Tents - not musty
    Sleeping mats - not as plush as I’d unrealistically expected
    Tent position - far enough away from snoring and ‘other’ noises
    Read more