Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Vung Tau Tượng Chúa Kitô Vua

    May 15, 2019 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    After breakfast we were to meet 'Jesus'. We thought the taxi would drive up a hill and let us step out there. But that was not the case. The taxi stopped at the beginning of the hill. At first I thought the taxi driver had made a mistake, but it didn't take long to realise that this really was the right spot to visit the Jesus statue. The man from the reception of our hotel had written down the address on a piece of paper which I gave to the taxi driver when we stepped into the taxi. So, we had come to the right place. We got out of the taxi and my sister told me immediately that she was not going to walk all the way to the top of the hill and she went to sit down on a bench. I thought, I really have been looking forward to this visit and now that I am here I shall visit 'Jesus' no matter what! In good spirits I began to climb the stairs. I noticed very quickly that I'm not as young anymore as I would like to be, but every time I looked at the people coming down the stairs I thought it would not take long anymore before I would be there, because they all were looking still rather fresh. It wasn't easy. At a certain moment I thought by myself 'taking a selfie from a distance wouldn't be so bad'. I reached step number 650. I could read that because they had written it on the steps at certain points.Read more