Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Madame Dominique

    September 11, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I met a very nice lady (madame Dominique), in her early 70's, who's from France/Swiss, on my second day in Vila Praia de Âncora. Talked to her briefly and I went on my way. We met again on the third day and ended up walking, resting and drinking together the last 12 km on the way to O Serrallo. As I wasn't able to grab a bed in Oia, she was worried and offered to share her pre-booked luxury room with me. I felt odd, but kept her offer in my back pocket just in case. I didn't have to take that offer after all, and she was happy that I had a place to sleep for the night. We walked together again today with great conversations until I strayed away from the trail. She will walk on tomorrow when I stay in Baiona for my first rest day. I hope to catch up with her at some point in the Central route but it is unlikely since I have no wing. Will try to catch up with her for breakfast and coffee in the morning before she starts walking. If I don't see you again, madame Dominique, Buen Camino! It was quite an honor to meet you.Read more