Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Baiona-Nigrán on rest day

    September 13, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    On this day, instead of resting in Baiona as originally planned, I followed Isabelle, who's on a long break, for a short walk to Nigrán, which is a beautiful beach town in between the next stage. Given it was only 10 km walk, we slept in until 9:00 am, had breakfast andb started trekking. We got there around noon and the rooms were not ready so we dropped our rucksacks at the place and headed to the water for a much needed dip.

    I "officially" met Isabelle for the first time in Baiona that evening. However, we crossed path two times previously when I stayed in Albergue de Santa Luzia in Viana do Castelo, and in Albergue D'Avenida in Vila Praia de Âncora. Isabelle recognized me, but I did not recall to have crossed over her path. How I ran into Isabelle was rather odd. As I was sitting in he park waiting to watch sunset, I needed some water after a coffee and couple beers. However, I could not find any mercado in my sight. I noticed a young lady sitting nearby, thinking she was local, I took my chance, hoping she understand English, asking if she could point me to a place where I can get a bottle of water. Instead, she offered me her spare bottle. That was so kind of her. We started chit chatting and that's when I found out we've crossed path twice prior to that evening. Mucha gracias Isabelle! You're my second Camino angel.
    Read more