Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Souloc Sur Mer

    October 9, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    Up around 9:30. Neither of us felt like eating breakfast so we went outside to catch the shuttle to Soulac sur Mer. The area around the port is barren marshland. Luckily we did not have to wait on the gangway line for our shuttle stickers on our cards since we’d finished registering yesterday. We were waved immediately to the queue for boarding the buses. 10 minutes later the majority of the passengers descended on the small town.

    We were pleasantly surprised how nice a place it was. And even more surprised how pleasant all the store keepers were to us in particular. At the bookshop I tried to ask for a book by Maurice Leblanc. The man looked startled but then took us straight to the book I wanted and seemed impressed I knew anything about the author. At another store a cute kitty was just lounging around on the magazines and let me pet it. Every store we visited, we were greeted warmly by the locals. Their Beach was beautiful and very reminiscent of Pawleys. It was a really nice surprise considering we’d thought about staying in the boat.

    We headed back around 12:30 since most stores closed from 12:30-2:00. I learned that through research. Others had no clue and proceeded to complain how stupid it was to close in the middle of the day. Didn’t they know we had a limited amount of time to bless their silly little town with our esteemed presence? 🙄 and wouldn’t you know it…we had awful weather.

    Back on board we had a light lunch and tried to participate in a couple of games in the main atrium. Chilled for a while in the room, back down for word scramble…I wanted an ice cream so we went up to the buffet. I was waiting on mom to go through the handling station when I backed up to turn and ran into/got ran into my a lady with two plates behind me. Nailed my shoulder blade, got really embarrassed and left. Talked to Greg and Kyrie and felt better. Still deciding on going to the show tonight or not…
    Read more