Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 103

    Da Nang

    June 3, 2022 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    As south as I go everything becomes more expensive and less authentic, adventurous and different. So trying to navigate with the deception, and my budget being strangled, has been a challenge for the past days. Many things I had to deal with started to have to become a priority, so my days in this city were actually mostly on a nice caffe trying to organize myself (and still have so much to do). I am not much of a planner, so having to put everything together was a bit stressful (an extra added to my stressed "Ihatetouristystuffbutdontknowhowtoescapefromit" self). A new update to my life is that I finally decided to go to work to Australia, so I could make some fast money, which kinda moved all my plans or expectations so I could make it happen (also my savings). This means that my next destination will be Cambodia, and I'll have to rush myself to the south in order to reach some deadlines. Still, Da Nang was an interesting city, not to touristy, and a nice break from the "I have to see everything" vibe that other places gave me.

    💡Travelling tips: how to get the best and most authentic vietnamese food in three easy steps;
    1. Search for the main street (or nearby) on the city center
    2. Get into a place that looks basic (the plastic small chairs is a must), unhygienic and overcrowded by locals
    3. Point at what their having, no questions asked.
    📍Essentials: Dragon Bridge fire up (21h weekend), quick stop at Cham Museum (at the moment it was for free because of covid), Son Tra Night Market
    🏠 Accomodation: TrangHomstay (the host is sososo nice, helpful and desinterested that makes the place a 10, also great location)
    🍴Food: Bánh Xeèo Bà Durõng (Vietnamese pancakes, a dish is very big so it can be shared by two), smoked ice cream
    Read more