Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 126

    Back to Phnom Penh

    June 26, 2022 in Cambodia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Came back to the capital for some more Australian visa bureaucracy (yes, still with this). Got here by the interesting train, which had some nice views at some points and was comfy and skipping the bumpy roads. But got almost deaf with the constant clark and met and absolutely insane english man st the station. So, since I already visited what I was mainly interested in, took this days more easy. Did some aeroyoga (I am getting very into it lately as you can see), went for a run on the heat of the city, got a very cheap massage by a strong blind woman, had dinner with a turkish infuencer and just walked a lot around the city. My medical exam was very thorough, after getting even a chest x-ray and a urine test (passed everything;), everything's good), had a conversation with the doctor about the health status of the general population, and mostly the youth. I discovered how much it could be prevented only through education, because the main issue wasn't so much the poverty in the country (which is also a fact, Cambodia is veryvery poor and also not cheap at all), but a cultural matter and a lack of information. As you could imagine, this went directly to my weakest point. So I couldn't help but go on an expedition to the red cross (which is the institution I am familiarized with and know that they're willing to help and also to accept help) and exposed my case to the health department, almost suplicating for them to accept my help. Still, as it usually happens, the interventions they had related to my field were only short-term effective (they didn't even have a nutritionist on the country) and with veryveryvery high risk people, and wasn't so sure that they were willing to put more effort on what I wanted to work on. Still, I had a very nice chat with the person in charge and it was very cool to see the red cross from another country and how it worked. But I assured myself I wanted to keep insisting on the cause. After that, got myself comfy on a sleeping bus, ready to visit one of the 8 marbles of the world. How curious I am of the impression it will give me!

    📍Essentials: azahar yoga (best adjustments I've had on resting poses), seeing hand massage (massagists are blind and the place is quite an experience, only for 7.5$)
    🔍Travelling tips: an option of transport from Sihanoukville is taking the train. Great views, and the railway in Sihanoukville looks so poor and simple for the dimensions of the city it's in that it's truly impacting to see, the constant horn doesn't make it a pleasant trip (importance of making a use of your earplugs for the trip) and the loud wavy locals (inside and outside the train) either, but its still nice to see their enthusiasm, and you're skipping the bumpy roads from the bus/car.
    Read more