Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Longer than expected in Santiago

    December 1, 2017 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    The flight from Sydney was delayed 2 hours, but luckily I was in the middle section with 2free seats. This allowed a nice relaxing flight. Thank good ness because as soon as we arrive in Santiago the chaos begun.

    At least 100people had missed connections. I thought I was busy being about 10in the queue, but after an hour I was still number 6. No tickets were being issued, just lots of telling people to get in the queue.

    Very frustrating we may not have spoken the same language but we all understood our frustrations. Luckily a girl beside we spoke good English and Spanish, she was making some phone calls and told me to check my Qantas app. Qantas had changed my flight automatically but no one told us this. of I ran to make sure I got the flight. Once I realised I had a free hour it was a good opportunity to get some US $ and some local currency.

    Finding an ATM was not easy but finally found one to only have both cards rejected. Money changer - surely I’ll have better luck there. Nope they only change cash do not use cards. So here I sit in Santiago International airport with no money. But at least I have a ticket to Buenis Aries. Hopefully I’ll get cash there otherwise I’ll be in real trouble.
    Read more