Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Day trip in Slavakia

    June 26, 2018 in Slovakia ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    The weather had been terrible so I new if I didn’t book a tour I probably would just lounge around in bed all day. I booked at day trip to the Tatra mountains in Slovakia. The trip was all in Polish but luckily the guide had quite a bit of English so he kept the 3 English speaking tourists abreast of what was going on. Once again over the border there were no immigration crossing, which I’m starting to get used to.
    The day looked pretty gloomy but luckily the rain stayed away while we walked steadily upward along the muddy road for approx 2k’s. Once at the top we came to a wooded path that has been built above the trees to enable you to look down into the valleys below. Unfortunately today it was very overcast and the. Loads were quite low. They broke a couple of times to enable glimpses of the vista. The rain luckily stayed away for most of the walk, about 3 hours.

    At the end of the wooden path is a viewing platform where you can walk onto a open weave platform, looking far below. It apparently can hold 80people. I gave it my best shot, not sure I would want to be on it with another 80 odd people.

    Once we finished this part of the trip we headed to a small village. Here I wandered around, tasted some local spirits (50% proof), it was like drinking rocket fuel. Luckily the sun broke through for about an hour enabling a view of the high Tatra mountains.

    Then back to zakapone for dinner and an early night.
    Read more