Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Few days exploring Budapest

    June 30, 2018 in Hungary ⋅ 🌬 23 °C

    I have learnt the Budapest was once 2 cities, Buda the flat down on the East side of the Danube, and Pest the hilly city on the west.

    There are no high rises here and the city is very easy to get around. I can jump on the trams or trolley buses, or underground to get myself from a to b. My first day is exploring is spent on the Pest side.

    I start at the “Invisible Exhibition”. This is not something I had planned on doing, but once I read about it I new it was a must. You are given a tour by a blind person, you are completely in the dark. Your eyes do not get accustomed to the darkness. You can see nothing for approx 1 hour. We are guided through an apartment, kitchen sink, stove, Tv, bath room etc. just feeling things as you go along. Then into a garden, feel the tress listen to the birds. Then the street, the ground becomes rough with cobble stones. There are traffic lights, sounds of cars and push bikes etc. Finally we end in a bar to enjoy a drink. What an insightful tour, loved every minute of it.

    Next it was down to the Danube, a walk along the river with a magnificent view of the Parliament building. Up to Castle Hill. Lots of stairs today. The police has a graduation today so suddenly there are police sirens going everywhere while 6 buses of graduates arrive along with horses and flags. Quite a to do.

    I head to Buda Castle, another beautiful castle which was destroyed during WW1 , it has been reconstructed. A prosecco is calling me from a restaurant overlooking the Danube.

    Time to head back down to the river via the Funicular, then walking across the Chain Bridge to find a spot with view and a couple more bubbles.

    I head home after a big day of walking up hills and stairs.
    Read more