Satellite
Show on map
  • Madrid, day of arrival

    July 21, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    It was such a full-on day! All flights were on schedule and I arrived at around 11 am. I took a bus to the city centre, and got a little worried: I tried to buy the ticket with my Aussie credit card and it was declined.
    I took this cc specifically for the trip and it was the first attempt to use it. Before leaving home I activated the card, and I notified the bank of my trip.
    So, I paid the bus ticket in cash. I brought some cash but not a lot, as I was planning to use the cc whenever possible.
    I couldn't get in touch with the bank, or get into the app, because there was no wifi access on the bus and I still had to get a local SIM, so I started to think of all the options I had in case I couldn't use my cc to buy the SIM. It's times like this when speaking the local language can make all the difference.
    At the SIM shop, payment didn't go through with the Wave method but it was accepted when I inserted the card in the machine and entered the PIN. That was a relief!
    Next purchase was a sandwich for lunch, and this time the Wave method worked. It has worked ever since. Felt like the card needed to warm up to the idea of being used in another country.

    I got off the airport bus at Atocha station, and from there walked 20 minutes to the hotel. That's when I was reminded of the likeness between Madrid and Buenos Aires, and took some photos.

    Next surprise: I got to the hotel at 1:30. It was very hot outside. The hotel turned out to be on the 1st floor of an old building, and the front door was closed. A bit odd, I thought. Rang the bell, no answer. Called the phone number on the door, no answer. Someone came towards the building, key in hand, and I asked if she was from the hotel. She wasn't, but let me in so I could knock on the door upstairs. There was a cleaner there, who had no idea about bookings, and she rang the person in charge, who had gone out to get lunch. She confirmed she was expecting me and would be there in 5 minutes. I was already in and away from the sun, and happy to wait. I was prepared for some kind of wait, as the usual check in time in most places is 2pm, and I was early.
    Monse arrived soon, she was lovely, showed me to my room, etc. and everything was fine. I had a small but comfortable room, with private bathroom and a fan. I didn't need anything more.
    I had a shower, organised my things, and checked with my friend A about plans for the evening. I bought bus tickets for the next 2 days, then went for a walk and something to eat.
    Later I did another walk with A. I walked about 20k total for the day, and hardly noticed it!
    I went to bed late, almost midnight. Didn't feel jet lagged at all.

    The main thing I really wanted to go according to plan, was the flights. Once here, I have lots of flexibility and I am ready to pivot anytime. The next thing I want to make is the first planned stop on the Camino, at Orisson on Saturday night. This is a small refuge where bookings are essential and hard to get, so I would very much like to make use of my booking and enjoy it.
    Even the bus tickets to get me to the start of the walk, I didn't buy until I got here, in case there were flight delays. Everything after Orisson is totally flexible and I will see how I go day by day until I get to Santiago.
    The next thing I can't miss, is getting to Berlin on 5 September to see my beautiful Evita, a.k.a. Preciosauria ❤.
    Read more