Satellite
Show on map
  • Pamplona

    July 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    After 6 hours in air conditioned buses, it was a pleasant surprise to get off at Pamplona with a cool 23°C outside.
    I did a 15 minute walk to my accommodation for the night: Albergue Plaza Catedral.

    This is a private albergue. Albergues are hostal style places, with dorm rooms, many of which are exclusively for Camino pilgrims. My room has at least 6 sets of bunk beds, almost all occupied. They had booked me for a top bunk, but there was a cancellation and I was lucky that I could take a bottom bunk instead.

    Private albergues generally cost a little more and have better facilities than public ones. This one cost me 16€ including breakfast, and is my first albergue experience, although my Camino hasn't started yet.

    Once I had my bed and left my pack, I went out to explore a bit more of the city. I am staying in the historic centre, and it gets very lively in the evening. I took lots of pics.

    I was also a bit hungry, and I stopped for food on my walk. I'm actually surprised that I lasted that long (until 7pm) with only the 2 leftover slices of pizza that I had for brunch as all my solid food until then.

    I didn't get a chance to talk to anyone at the albergue because by the time I got back, had a shower and was ready to relax, it was close to 10pm and people were already trying to sleep.
    Read more