Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    New experience

    July 31, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Today I'm trying something new: I'm staying at the St John Baptist parochial albergue, in Grañón. It was highly recommended in the guide I've been following, for an experience in the true spirit of the Camino.
    There's no fee to stay here. People are asked to leave a donation in a box if they can, and are invited to take from the box if they need.
    There is a kitchen stocked with groceries, and guests prepare a communal meal.
    I can report on that later, as I just arrived and still have to have a shower and do my laundry - that in itself is a weird arrangement: we can hand wash on the second floor of the albergue, but we have to go to a bus stop around the corner to put it out to dry.
    They usually have a mass after dinner, but not today because it's Sunday 😅 . They will have a gathering with all the pilgrims instead.
    Read more