Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    300k

    August 3, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Today I got to Burgos, and completed the first 300k of the Camino.
    Last night I shared a room with Carol and Nancy. We all wanted to start walking by 5am, so we agreed to get up at 4 and we didn't have to tip-toe around anybody.
    Nancy wanted to wait for her friends in the next room, so Carol and I went on our way when we were ready, at 4.45.
    I had a head torch, so Carol got the benefit of the light and I got all the moths 😂
    We stopped to have our packed breakfasts at Atapuerca, still before sunrise.
    We kept walking, and we eventually got to another village at a time when cafes were open, and we had another break with morning tea and met other pilgrims.
    I moved on when I was ready, she stayed longer.
    The other day, Javier told me about an alternative route to Burgos, going next to a river instead of passing by an industrial area. It was a no brainer. Slightly longer, but more enjoyable. I don't know why this isn't the main route!
    I took the river option, with a few other people I had met before. The beginning of the route was marked, but then we found a 'shortcut' to the river and we were on our own. The scenery was nice, but we got to a dead end! We had to go back 🤷🏻‍♀️
    We wasted a bit of time there, but eventually joined the marked route again and we made it to Burgos.
    I was very tired, a bit sleepy, and with sore feet. Couldn't wait to check into the albergue.
    Read more