Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Burgos food

    August 3, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    It took me years to get used to Australia's early dinner time, and now I really need that, as the early starts need an early bedtime.
    Here, however, an early dinner is 8pm. I did my city walk at about 5pm, to get an impression of the city centre and, at the same time, take note of good places to eat later. By later I meant 6pm or so.
    There are many restaurants serving the specialties of the region, many icecream and smoothie shops, amazing patisseries and bakeries, and a chocolate cafe. My dessert was sorted. But first I needed to find food.
    I could have been satisfied with tapas or pinchos (something small), but as of 6pm the kitchens were all closed. This is the time when people go for drinks, not food.
    Luckily, as I kept walking I came across a Mexican fast food shop that had the kitchen open all day. Not my ideal kind of food to have in Spain, but the vegetarian burrito was a good option for an early meal, and it was quite good.
    For dessert, I went to Cafe Ibañez for chocolate con churros. WOW! It was amazing!
    Read more