Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    The meseta

    August 4, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Today is the start of a long section of cereal fields, mostly flat, dry, monotonous and devoid of any shade.
    I started walking with Lucía and Nico, a young American couple of Argentinian descent. They both left their jobs in Philadelphia and took time out to do the Camino from Le Puy (coincidentally, same as Fréderique) before they start a new life as members of a communal living cooperative in Rhode Island.
    Later, I walked part of the way with Fréderique. She's doing the walk to give thanks to God for curing her cancer. She told me the full story, and how puzzled the doctors were, as they couldn't explain her full recovery. We had a good chat about her reasons for believing, and mine for not believing, both respectful of the other and all in French.
    The chats make time go faster, 5 or 6k go by without noticing. I also enjoyed the parts I walked alone, I like my own time in silence 🙂
    Read more