Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Villar de Mazarife

    August 12, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    I stopped for a short break at the last bar before Villar de Mazarife, the destination for the day. The village that follows is 10k away. To make it to Astorga tomorrow, we had to walk 20k one day and 30 the next, or vice-versa. My plan was to do just 20 today, as we started a bit late and it was hot.
    Most of the pilgrims that took the variant route stopped at the same cafe, but not JinJu. She was going slow, and just kept walking.
    Jan was in deep conversation with another German and when I was ready to move on, they still had drinks to take care of, so I went on my way, assuming they'd catch up with me. I told Jan I was going to Albergue de Jesus (sounds like a religious place, but no: Jesus is the name of the owner 🤣).
    I caught up with JinJu halfway to the albergue, and we checked in together. We were given a twin room to share, for the same price as a dorm 😀
    Jan and the other guy were not in sight yet. TBH, I thought that perhaps they didn't like the look of the albergue and went to another one. Jesus' place looks a bit shabby from outside, but it has charm, and by far the best reviews in the village.
    So, JinJu and I settled in, had something to eat, showered, did the laundry... and only then Jan and his mate arrived. They wanted to keep going to the next village (another 10k), so I wished them buen Camino and went to my room for some rest. When I came back down an hour later, Jan was checking in! They had stayed for a drink, and then Jan changed his mind about the extra 10k. Also, all the people we met during the day were staying here. So, tomorrow we're starting from the same place again. It's like we're joined at the hip!
    Read more