Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Foncebadón, and decisions to make

    August 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    I checked in at the Albergue del Convento. For dinner I ate an avocado and crackers I had with me.
    Yesterday I made a comment, that I was on track to complete the walk early, but didn't want it to end. There are a couple of things I can do about that:
    1. Switch to the Camino de Invierno, which is very scenic and a few days longer, and/or
    2. After Santiago, keep walking to Finisterre and/or Muxia.
    I am tempted to do the Invierno because I know the standard Camino Francés gets very busy in the last 100k. The problem with that is that I wouldn't want to be in the middle of a crowd, and it may get difficult to find accommodation without prior booking.
    The challenge of the Invierno is that, since it's not too frequented, there is less infrastructure and accommodation can also be difficult but for different reasons. I still have at least another day to make up my mind. I put some questions on the Forum to help me decide.
    Ideally, I would like to go to Finisterre too, and if I can maintain the current rhythm, both extensions are doable.
    Read more