Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 24

    Mountain views and planning for tomorrow

    15 agosto 2022, Spagna ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Yesterday I had a big climb. Today it was up and down for some time, with fantastic views. Finally, there was a long and steep descent to Molinaseca, passing through a few small villages on the way.
    Last night I got some useful info from the Forum, regarding my questions about the idea of switching to the Camino de Invierno. One important point was accommodation. Albergues are very economical, but on the Invierno there aren't many. Staying at hostals or hotels can be a lot more expensive and I wanted to keep it simple, and cheap.
    I checked where the low cost albergues were located, and the route was doable if I organised my stops based on that. Today I was going to check with the first 2 or 3.
    For the first one, I had to call the municipality. The recorded message tells me to hold the line for a few minutes, then says all lines are busy and I should try later - and hangs up. I called a few times, always the same. I also sent an email, no answer.
    The guide I have says the municipality requires a phone reservation at least 2 days in advance. I only have one day, and they don't pick up! I tried a hostal, thinking 'ok, maybe I can have a more expensive room one night only, and then back to albergues', but they were full.
    As much as I was tempted to try the Invierno route, I can't go with this much uncertainty 🤷🏻‍♀️
    Leggi altro