Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Route choices

    August 17, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    In the morning, I started walking when I was ready, Thérèse from France was ready too, and we started together. Jan and Klaus were still packing.
    Thérèse went up the first hill quicker than me, and at the top we were offered to stop for a free coffee. We had just have breakfast, I don't drink coffee, and I was ready to walk. But Thérèse stayed. I thought she'd catch up with me a bit later, but never did.
    Jan and Klaus caught up when we were entering Villafranca del Bierzo. We walked together very little, until we got to the fork:
    The standard route went along the road and river, and was flat and shorter than the alternative.
    The alternative went over a mountain, and rejoined the main route at Trabadelos.
    The boys were doing the easy route, and I was doing the mountain. They were going all the way to Ruitelán today (25k via the short route). Since I was going the longer and harder way, I was planning to stop earlier.
    Read more