Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    The heatwave is over

    August 18, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    The maximum temperature for today was forecast to be 23°C. Not only the heatwave seems to be truly over, but we have also entered a cooler region. No need to set alarms at stupid hours before dawn anymore.
    Today I woke up when I heard the noises of others getting up. Had a good breakfast, and when I was ready to leave I checked the weather: 7°C! I was glad to have a jacket to wear (a few days ago I was asking myself why I packed it at all).
    Jinjoo is still starting her walks at 5am regardless, so I didn't see her. The German couple left while I was having breakfast. J&K were ready at about the same time as me, and Nelly was a few minutes behind. I wanted to make up for the night before, so I said to J&K to go, and I would wait and go with Nelly.

    The first half of the walk went to O Cebreiro, just after entering Galicia. It was up, up and up, and very steep. We passed by a couple of small villages where we had a chance to take a break and have a drink. The day was cool but bright, and we enjoyed spectacular views.
    Nelly heard from someone she met before who was now a day ahead: this person went up to O Cebreiro yesterday in heavy rain, and completely missed the views! We only had light rain yesterday and sunshine today. So lucky!
    Read more