Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Desperate for a toilet!

    August 20, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    There were a few small villages between Samos and Sarria (the big town 4k before today's destination), but either they had no facilities at all, or they were closed.
    I needed a toilet and was holding it, wishing for another village with an open bar around the next turn... and prepared to settle for a tall grass patch offering some privacy.
    When I got to an accessible area with some trees and grasses, it was very hard to take position because of the berry bushes, which were full of thorns, so I desisted and kept walking a bit more.
    Then I got to the place in the pictures. It was an albergue and cafe/restaurant, with 'open' signs but no one there. The cafe was clearly closed. The albergue door was unlocked. I stepped in and it was all dark and silent inside. I called 'Hola!' and looked around until I found the toilets. I was saved!
    A hand written note inside the toilet door asked for a 50c donation to help with maintenance costs, and I gladly complied with the request.
    Walking became much easier after that!
    Read more