Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    1 month of Camino

    August 23, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Today is the 'monthversary' of my start at Saint Jean Pied de Port, and I only have one more day of walking to get to Santiago.
    Everything went so well! I remember in the beginning, I had so many doubts about how things would go:
    How will my feet handle it?
    How will my legs handle it?
    How will I feel carrying that backpack for so long?
    How will my hands handle hand-washing the laundry every day?
    Do I have everything I need?
    Will I meet any nice people, or will I be too lonely or bored?
    Will I get sick of so much walking?
    What if I get covid?
    What if I get any other illness or injury?

    Because of all these questions, I couldn't be sure that I could complete the Camino in one go. And even if everything went well, I couldn't calculate how long it would take me.

    I read that, on average, most people do it in 35 days. I allowed up to 42, in case I needed or wanted to take days off, or in case I needed to do shorter days. But assuming I arrive tomorrow, it will be 33 days for me.

    This means I have up to 9 spare days. I also don't want this to end just yet. I have a plan 😉

    Today's walk was about 25k, a good part of it under the shade of trees.

    I walked most of the day with Jan, and we met other people on the way.
    Read more