Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 193

    Straights of Dozing

    May 8, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Despite all the adverts for a crossing from Brindisi to Durres, after spending an hour at the port trying to buy a ticket, I was told that there were no services - at least none that would take the van. So I had to go to Bari, which allowed me time to visit the Castel del Monte before taking the 10pm ferry.
    Bari itself had nothing to attract me particularly - churches and another fort courtesy of Isabella d'Aragon - so I went straight onto the the port and queued for 4 hours. Most of the boat is passenger accommodation is in cabins, for which I had not paid extra, but I found a perfectly good bit of floor spce behind the seats in the one lounge and had a good night kip on my mat and in my sleeping bag.
    Despite the strong winds and rain, the crossing was not very rough and I awoke in Albania to a glorious sunny day.
    Read more