Satelit
Tampilkan pada peta
  • Hari 14

    Day 12 of AT in TN NOBO

    9 Maret, Amerika Serikat ⋅ 🌧 55 °F

    Slack-packed south from Wilbur Dam Rd (433.3) to Laurel Falls Trailhead US 321 (423.1)
    Total Miles: 10.2

    Linda from Black Bear Resort dropped me off up North at the Wilbur Dam Trailhead and took half of my stuff back (so it could dry out) to the “resort” that she owns with her husband Travis. I hiked south back to where I ended yesterday (Laurel Falls).

    It poured all last night but the rain had stopped for the beginning of my hike at 9:30am. A very scenic first 5 miles: passed over the Wilbur Dam en route to circling most of Watauga Lake (2,000 ft Elev.). A lake resort type area in the summer months. I saw Mountain Squid (one of the leaders of Bob Peoples’ Hard Core trail crew) again and today he was training 4 new volunteers in the art of blowdown removal, tree cutting, rhododendron pruning, water drainage, etc. . Was great to talk to him and the group again.

    The last 5 miles was going 2.5 miles up Pond Mtn (4,000 ft Elev.) and then straight back down the backside 2.5 miles to Laurel Falls. In the cold rain (45-50 degrees). Ugh.

    Spent the night at Black Bear Resort and was able to do laundry, dry out my tent equipment, catch up on journal stuff and watch a little tv in their hiker common area. I was the only guest staying there tonight!
    Baca selengkapnya