Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Adventurous

    October 4, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    We were up at the slightly more civilised time of 6am this morning for our 2nd Extra Magic Morning, and our first entry into California Adventure using the special Hotel Guest Only park entry. This entrance goes straight from the hotel into the theme park. It’s the only one at any Disney park worldwide, and one reason why you have to sell a kidney, or slightly less favoured child to be able to afford to stay here.

    Of course we couldn’t walk straight in, this is Disney, so there was the mandatory queueing. We are about 20 metres from the park entrance, but as we arrived downstairs at 7:15am there were already several hundred other hotel guests in front of us. No matter, as we eventually shuffled forward and made it into the park about 7:35am. This meant we still had time to walk past Grizzly River Run, Soarin Around the World and various other rides, on our way towards today’s goal, Avenger’s Campus, and the all new Web Slingers ride. As we walked towards the ride, I was keeping my smug setting on ‘Internal’, as only hotel guests get this early entry. The peasants must wait until 8am. Muhahaha.

    We made it to Web Slingers about 7:50am and were soon frantically slinging webs, saving New York, helping Spider-Man, and all while being careful not to dislocate anything, as this is quite an active ride. It’s great fun, if a little short, and makes great use of Disney’s latest ride technology.

    Next stop was Incredicoaster, which I had booked through Genie+. Last time I rode this it was still called California Screamin, and despite the new Incredibles overlay and music, it’s the same action packed, high speed coaster. Excellent fun, with even a loop and fast banked turns.

    My next Genie+ booking was scheduled for 9:35, so we jumped on Pixar’s Pal Around, formerly Mickey’s Fun Wheel. It’s a giant Ferris wheel, which provides great views of the park, and offers cars that swing back and forth on independent rails. I can do the fastest, most gravity defying coaster, but give me something that swings or spins, and my stomach says ‘Cut that out!’ Fortunately breakfast remained intact and I soon wobbled off the ride and made a beeline for Guardians of the Galaxy Mission Breakout. This is an elevator drop ride, and it’s in the running for my favourite ride in California Adventure, especially when you have the Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack blasting!

    By now I was peckish, and our lunch booking wasn’t until 2:15pm, so I had decided to try a hot dog from Angry Dogs. This meal lived up to its promise, as I was angry after unwrapping it, and seeing that I’d just paid $8 US for a frankfurter and a bun! Battling my disappointment we adjourned to our room, to chill out until our lunch booking.

    Just after 2pm we made the 5 minute walk from the hotel to Lamplight Lounge. One of the Disney restaurants I’d booked, 60 days ago, when the booking window opened. This is what you have to do if you want to dine at any of the park’s table service restaurants.

    I ordered the cheddar burger, which was made from Wagyu beef and is quite possibly the best burger I have ever eaten! Plus, it was only $23 US, which by Disney standards is good value. Jean had the potato skins, which were also excellent. So far it’s been two park restaurants, and two delicious meals.

    In the contented glow of a calorie high I wound my way back to the hotel via a quick ride on Radiator Springs Racers, which was a genuine walk on, as it had been down for most of the day, and just started up as we wandered past. The luck of the Irish strikes again!

    We eventually headed back to the air conditioned calm of our hotel room via a few shops on Buena Vista street, leaving me a few more hundred dollars lighter, but carrying a few more items of Star Wars and Marvel clothing.

    Today was another great park day, continuing a triumphant return to the Happiest Place on Earth.

    Tomorrow it’s back to Disneyland, possibly at a more relaxed hour as my park fitness regime does recommend a recovery day. Onwards!
    Read more