Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    It’s Grand

    October 5, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Yesterday was a slightly more relaxed park day, if such a thing exists. I was up at the relaxed hour of 6:30am, so had a quick shower and quickstepped downstairs to join the line exiting the hotel for Early Magic Hour. After Monday I had learned that there is a separate much faster security line for people without bags. This line is devoid of strollers and mobile flesh mountains on electric scooters, so it moves without delay. All this meant that I was through the scanner before you could say ‘Have a magical day!’

    I arrived at the Disneyland gates just before they opened and once again swanned past the great unwashed to join the Early Entry swarm off to enjoy their perks. I made it to the Frontierland gates with about twenty minutes to wait before they would swing open, granting access to Galaxy’s Edge. Once they had opened to admit the Star Wars horde I was able to activate nerd mode and fast-walked my way into Batuu and would have been first on Rise of the Resistance, but as I neared the first Galaxy’s Edge cast members I heard them say ‘The Resistance is not recruiting at this time.’ This is code for, the ride is broken. Denied!!!

    This was disappointing news, but I was still in Star Wars Galaxy’s Edge, which still made this one of the top 10 days of my life, ride or no ride. I took my time and enjoyed looking through Batuu and admiring the incredible detail and craftsmanship that the Imagineers have lavished on this land. After about half an hour of this my inner thrill seeker demanded action, so I lined up for Big Thunder Mountain Railway.

    Jean joined me at the park after 9, where we fitted in a few rides and new experiences, that we hadn’t done yet, and this is our 12th visit! One of these was the Enchanted Tiki Room, which is a catchy tropical themed singalong, featuring bird animatronics. It is also incredibly culturally insensitive, especially if you are Polynesian. Not sure how Disney, who are usually quite onto it with these issues has missed this one.

    I was able to fit in a few more rides in Disneyland before taking refuge from the heat at the hotel, then having a swim in one of the Grand Californian’s amazing pools. I treated the assembled pool goers to the glory of my chiseled physique for as long as I could, then headed back to the room.

    About quarter to five we wandered over to Disneyland for our dinner reservation at the Blue Bayou. This restaurant is actually on a verandah overlooking the Pirates of the Caribbean ride, and is fine dining, so I’m not sure how I was allowed in.

    Jean had her favourite Monte Cristo sandwich, while I chose the Jambalaya, which was excellent. About one hour and two hundred dollars later, we waddled out, full and happy.

    We took our time enjoying the park at dark and fitting in some themed rides, including Storybook Canal, Haunted Mansion and Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters before leaving Disneyland about 10:30pm.
    Read more