Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    I’m Soarin’

    October 6, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    After 3 back to back park assaults it was time today to really throttle back and enjoy California Adventure at our leisure, not working to a ride schedule. This meant entering the park through our exclusive Grand Californian Hotel entrance just after 9am, then seeing which rides had short(ish) queues as we sauntered past.

    We didn’t have to walk far before the luck ‘o’ the Irish smiled upon me. This first took the shape of a 20 minute queue for Soarin’ Over California. We then decided to try the single ride line for Radiator Springs Racers in Cars Land. This was virtually a walk on, and even better today, the cloud cover hung around longer than usual, meaning the temperatures were really comfortable, hovering in the early 20’s.

    Even though this was a take it easy day, of course I was still monitoring ride times on the Disneyland app, which meant I noticed when Guardians of the Galaxy: Mission Breakout dropped from a 60 to just a 20 minute standby time. With the fate of the Galaxy at stake I had to scuttle over to the ride and line up.

    This is such a good ride, possibly my favourite in California Adventure! I was giggling like a demented lunatic the whole ride, and everyone in our ride vehicle clapped at the end.

    Exiting Mission Breakout we decided to try out something new at California Adventure and rode the Red Car trolley from Guardians to Buena Vista street and return.

    Naturally all of this excitement worked up an appetite, so for the first time in 20 years I decided to try Arby’s again, because apparently, ‘they have the meats’. Google Maps revealed that the closest Arby’s location was two kilometres away. This equation worked for me, as about five k’s of walking would burn off about five curly fries, so off I toddled.

    One delicious Philly cheesesteak sandwich and curly fries latter I stumbled out of Arby’s in a meat coma and sweated my way back to the air conditioned sanctuary of the hotel, as the sun had suddenly remembered it was shining on California, and must therefore try to incinerate us.

    Tonight is our last night in the wallet eating opulence of the Grand Californian, before we checkout tomorrow and head for our third hotel of the trip, after picking up my EV rental tomorrow. But tonight we dine, at The Cheescake Factory. Huzzah!!!
    Read more