Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Oh, it's a sandwich!

    April 12, 2023 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    How can I adequately describe Tokyo DisneySea? I agonised over this for minutes, until I realised there is only one way to do it justice. In the immortal words of cultural heavyweight Borat Sagdiyev, DisneySea is 'Wee waa, woo waa!'

    Once again we had an early start, although not as retina searingly early as yesterday. Today's park odyssey kicked off at the gentlemanly hour of 6am.

    At 7:30am we walked the two hundred metres from our hotel to the special hotel queue for my new favourite phrase, 'Happy Entry'. I'm already a master at this, but I think I probably have been for a long time, only we haven't put a title on it before.

    On the stroke of 8:15am the cast members activated the turnstiles to unleash the horde. My research had informed me that Soaring: Fantastic Flight can quickly reach queue levels of 120 minutes plus, so we beelined for that, and once again were in the first boarding group. The ride is the same as in California, Florida and Shanghai, except for the local scenes at the end of the flight naturally. By the time we exited the ride the queue had grown to impressive length, over 80 minutes, so it was a good choice to knock it off early.

    My next must do was Indiana Jones: Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. I love the Indiana Jones ride at Anaheim and had high hopes for the Tokyo iteration. To my relief it lived up to it's namesake, and is possibly even better, so I've ridden it twice today, and will ride it quite a bit more on Friday, now that I've discovered its Single Rider line.

    The following few hours saw me ride all the tentpole attractions at DisneySea, including Raging Spirits, Tower of Terror (twice), Journey to the Centre of the Earth, DisneySea Electric Railway, S.S. Columbia and Toy Story Mania.

    Breaking up this high speed park orbiting ride whirlwind were stops for Churros and the chance to try a Reuben at the New York Deli. This isn't some Puerto Rican dude in hotpants like it sounds, but a really tasty sandwich, which came as a great relief to me!

    To finish off the evening I watched Disney's Light the Night fireworks show, which is small by U.S. standards, but a good way to conclude another great park day.

    Tomorrow it's our second and last day at Tokyo Disneyland. For some reason it opens later tomorrow, but I'm not arguing about the chance for a little extra sleep.
    Read more