Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    My food is looking at me!

    April 13, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    For some reason which I couldn't figure out Tokyo Disneyland didn't open until 9:30 this morning. On the plus side that meant I didn't have to get up at 'Oh my god!' o'clock.

    Even though it was a more relaxed morning we still got to the park in time to take advantage of Happy Entry, but something dodgy happened this morning, because when we got through the gates and fast-walked to the Beauty and Beast ride there was already a queue time of 80 minutes. I first noticed something wasn't quite right when I saw people strolling in the wrong direction. Nobody strolls during Happy Entry. You walk with unwavering purpose towards your ride, stopping for nothing, or you say 'Rules are for suckers!' and you just run. What you don't do is stroll!

    I suspect there is a secret Happier-Happy Entry, which is only available to the 1%, members of the secret underground network that runs the planet. Anti-vaxxers know what I mean, the lizard people and their pets.

    Anyway, I digress, the short version is that Beauty and the Beast at 80 minutes was a hard no from me. My max queue time is about 45 minutes, unless it's a Star Wars ride, so instead, we did a walk-on at Buzz Lightyear.

    Coming off the ride it was about 10am and time to sample some more unique culinary experiences. This time it was Alien Mochi at Plasma Rayz diner. You get three small green mochi. Each one has a different sweet filling, either strawberry, chocolate or custard. How could I choose a favourite when they all look so cute, and were all delicious?

    Refueled and ready to ride the next stop was Big Thunder Mountain. This was quickly backed up by The Haunted Mansion, which is superior to both US versions, then another death-defying encounter with the Pirates of the Caribbean.

    To round off the morning we decided to ride the Tokyo equivalent of the Disneyland Railway, the Western River Railroad. This is a great, relaxing way to see Adventureland and Frontierland, while also taking a break out of the sun and giving your legs some time off.

    Theme parking sure makes you hungry, so I just had to buy a Monsters Inc Melon Bun as a lunch starter before crossing the park to Fantasyland to order my main at La Taverne de Gaston. I wavered throughout the queue line between choosing the filled croissant and the french toast sandwich. Finally when I got to the counter I panicked and ordered the french toast sandwich. Fortunately it was delicious and was probably the better choice. Once again my indecision pays off!

    By now it was 2pm and time for a break, so we headed out of the park to catch the monorail back to the hotel. The plan for later is to have dinner at Ikspiari before surging back into the park to finish off with some marque rides, and maybe a sneaky churro or two. Don't worry, theme park calories are only calculated at twenty cents on the dollar, so you can go nuts.
    Read more