Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Murias de Rechivaldo

    July 24, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 48 °F

    I walked 14 miles on Day 23, after 2 resting days. I walked slow and took MANY breaks. Intentionality and staying present were of key importance. I practiced mindfulness walking and noticed so many things I would otherwise neglect.

    I had a tri-lingual conversation that makes me giggle. As I walked through a town, an older woman was outside sweeping her porch, a very common site in the mornings. She looked so excited to see me and waved, “Buen dia peregrino!” I greeted her in Spanish and she asked where I was going. Our conversation continued in Spanish. At one point I think I accidentally told her I was from France. 😯 Excitedly she switched to French and we continued our talk in French as we marveled at the beautiful and steep Pyrenees. In French she asked how many days I’d been traveling and in English I said “23”. She stared at me and I repeated it in French. Then she sent me on my way in Spanish again. It was AMAZING! Also let’s just pretend I’m from Paris from now on…..au revoir!
    Read more