Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    After the Walk

    August 25, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Today was a mix of busy and waiting. I could not get my Compostela yesterday, since the office closed. I was still able to register and got counted for the days totals though. I was one of 1273 pilgrims who went to the office, but my guess is that less than 50 were on my route.

    So far this month there have been approximately 22,000 registered pilgrims who completed the way. Overwhelmingly they walked the Camino Frances. If you see a Camino movie or YouTube channel about the Camino, it will most likely be about the French Way. 344 Americans did the walk so far this month. And out of the 22,000 people, most walked, a little over 1000 people bicycled, 34 rode horses and 15 people in wheel chairs made it.

    I returned to the Pilgrims Office at 9 am to see a long line winding around the block. That line was to get a ticket to then be called to submit my documents for the Compostela. Remember those stamps? I was going to have to show my credential with the stamps to get my Compostela. I got ticket number 316. While I was waiting I went out souvenir shopping, because the people in the pilgrims office told me it would be at least 2 hours before I was called. The ticket thing is actually kind of nice, because you don't have spend your whole time stuck on line.

    I was finally called just after 12 noon. The process was easy: I went up to the window and they looked up my info when I registered and counted the stamps and confirmed the dates. I was issued the Compostela with my name in Latin. Actually the text of the Compostela is all in Latin. I also asked for and received the Certificate of Distance. And a cardboard tube to take them home in. It's funny all the guidebooks say I walked 117k but my certificate says 113. It doesn't really matter and I do like the Latin name.

    To celebrate I got lunch on a fixed price menu with wine, bread, Galician Soup and roasted meat and coffee all for 11 euros.

    I did miss the pilgrims mass though. It was at 12 and there is limited seating due to Covid and long line because of the limited seating. One day..... and maybe I will see the Botafumeiro.

    The rest of the day was taken up making sure I had my travel documents ready including taking a Covid Test. You can't get back in the country without one. Actually it may not matter soon, because there are rumors that the European Union will close to Americans after Labor Day since we never reciprocated the reopening.
    Read more