Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Uphills and new peoples

    May 3, 2022 in France ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    We were walking only 5 miles today ( 8 kilometers). The man at the Pilgrims office told us it was a 3 hour walk to Orisson, so we decided for a late start. After finding breakfast at a cafe in town we were on way at 10. Katie was real nice she stopped and waited for me many times. She had to, because much of the way was really steep with lots of switch backs. After an hour we had made it 3k with over 6000 steps. The hill was steep! For me and around town or in local parks 6000 steps is just under three miles. It took me a while with my sleep deprived brain (did I mention I barely slept last night?) to figure out that with all the steep hills I was taking shorter steps.

    We met a lot of nice people from (in no particular order) Ireland, Germany, Italy, Iowa, California, North Carolina, and even Connecticut.

    Anyway after a bit of struggle for me, we made it to Orisson in the 3 hours. We had no internet. I think the owners believe in the old adage about pretending it's the 1960's and put your phones down and talk to people. After a lovely afternoon on the terrace we had a tasty communal dinner. And I ordered lunch for tomorrow, because there's nothing between here and Roncesvalles (17k) our next stop, if the food truck doesn't show up.
    Read more